Pasta olio

Last night I really wanted some pasta olio…

The first time I heard the phrase “pasta olio” was as a kid watching Kindergarten Cop (I love that movie, and I don’t know why.) I probably had been eating it for years before that. It’s one of my favorite dishes, one that mom said she “just made up.” Well, don’t know if that’s really true, but I have certainly enjoyed eating it all these years.

This is a very simple, easy recipe that anyone can make. It’s mild, not spicy, and can easily take on extra flavorings if you like. If you have an upset stomach, the way my mom had a couple weeks ago, it should be gentle enough on your stomach (unless it’s more reactive against oils – not that it is all that oily.) You can use your choice of pasta noodles – I prefer extra wide egg noodles, but that’s just me.

So I went to make my pasta olio last night. I was all out of margarine, so I substituted butter instead. Big mistake – something about the way the butter separated when it was hot made my stomach turn. If you refuse to use margarine, try ghee (clarified butter) instead of regular butter, as the solids that would have separated have been removed – your stomach will thank you.

Pasta Olio

Ingredients
pasta
margarine
parsley
salt
red pepper flakes, optional

Boil the pasta in salty water according to the directions on the package. (Note: I like to boil it past the al dente state, but gluten free pasta will fall apart if you go past that state.) Drain properly.

Put hot noodles in bowl. Add enough butter to coat the noodles thoroughly, between 1/3 c. to 1/2 c. per 2 cups cooked noodles. The heat of the noodles will melt the margarine. Stir until thoroughly coated. Sprinkle in parsley and red pepper flakes.
Enjoy!

~ by cerridwyn eldritch on July 31, 2013.

Comments are the cherry on my sundae.

 
