Roux, or Cream Soup Base

The other day I was making tuna noodle casserole, only to realize I didn’t have any cream of celery on hand. I always try to keep at least one can of cream of celery soup around, but sometimes I forget that one was used up (or that mother had gone and used one without me noticing.) Well, the noodles were nearly finished boiling, the oven preheated, and everything ready to go except for my cream of celery. Since I had some celery on hand, I simply decided to whip up a roux, chop up the celery really fine (since I don’t actually like celery), and saved myself a trip to the store. It’s a very easy thing to do, anybody can whip one up in the span of a few minutes, and really, I think my casserole turned out even better than usual.

The proper term is “roux”, but most people I know call it a cream of soup base.

Roux, or Cream Soup Base Recipe

1/2 cup butter
6 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
2 cups milk
2 cubes chicken bouillon
ground black pepper to taste
salt, to taste (optional)
more milk, if you are adding other ingredients for a cream of soup, such as cheddar or broccoli

Melt butter in a saucepan. Add flour to make a paste. Add milk and bouillon cubes, stir well. Cook over low heat until thickened. Add pepper and salt to taste.

To this base you may add ingredients for cream soups you like, taking care to add more milk to help it maintain a uniform consistency, depending on the thickness you desire. Some options for ingredients are boiled diced celery, steamed broccoli, American cheese. I like to add chunks of baked potato (with the peel still on) with cheddar cheese, bacon pieces, and chives – makes for a great loaded potato soup, on which I add even more cheddar cheese, bacon and sour cream. Yum.

~ by cerridwyn eldritch on May 31, 2013.

Comments are the cherry on my sundae.

 
